Skip to content

Get your ink on

August 13, 2009
Nico Tattoo Crew artist Spyros Papaconstantinos shows his ink.

Nico Tattoo Crew artist Spyros Papaconstantinos shows his ink. Photo by Carl Mauzy

Pick up a copy of Athens News this week and get inky.
In this issue, Marisa Kakoulas, the creator of needlesandsins.com, a tattoo news blog, offered Athens News juicy tidbits about her experiences in Greece as a tattooed Greek-American woman. There is a lot of spittle involved and a bit of worship, all in all it is a very entertaining and enlightening narrative.
The article “The Inky Rebellion” will be online on Tuesday or thereabouts, along with some colorful pictures by Carl Mauzy. Check it out for more of her experiences and more about the acceptance of tattoos (or lack of it) in Greece.
Here is one story that was not included in print to whet your appetite:

“Most recently, I was in Monastiraki ready to lay down a lot of money on assorted bottles of ouzo, koboloi, and drink coasters of ancient Greeks in coitus – the usual bad souvenirs. I was with my sister (who looks more typically Greek than I am) when a shop owner in her late forties/early fifties, stares me down and then says to my sister in Greek “Is this one Greek?” nodding her chin my way. I answered her back in Greek that I’m Greek American. She ignores me and continues talking to my sister asking her why I would do that to myself, to which my sister replied, “Because it’s beautiful.” The woman said, “It’s disgusting … and against God.” Then punctuated her point by spitting on the floor. [Her own floor that she had to clean. I never understood this Greek practice.] My non-tattooed sister was ready to start arguing with her but, being used to these comments, I told my sister not to respond. Instead, we went into the souvenir shop right next to the woman’s where we bought almost all our gifts, largely so I could show to the her as we emerged with our many bags (followed by the smiling and tattoo-accepting owner of the other store waving us off), just how much money she lost in her boorishness and ignorance. I simply couldn’t believe that this middle-aged woman — who owns a shop in the heart of Athens tourism — was willing to trade in a sale to outright insult me. What happened to the good old Greek way of talking about you behind your back?”

Check out more about Marisa here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

